Assignment 1 – Planning

For some or other reason, I just can’t get motivated to do this assignment. I’m experiencing a total mental block and I can’t fathom why. I mean, I have no problem walking up to strangers and asking them if I can take their portrait. I did a similar exercise when I took a documentary photography class here in Vancouver and we set up shop on the disused steps of the Vancouver Art Gallery, strung up a sheet and asked passers by to step up to have their portrait taken, Richard Avedon style. But that was four years ago and I’m a little out of practice with street photography these days.

While doing research for this assignment I’ve been rather inspired by Hans Eijkelboom and his method of shooting on the street. Paul Matzner’s work also appeals greatly to me. So I think I’ve found my methodology about how to go about creating a good series for this assignment, yet I still continue to have this feeling of dread in the pit of my stomach. I’m not sure if it is related to work pressures or the really bad weather we’ve been having here lately or the worries I’ve been having about my mother’s health. It’s really tough when you are so far from family and they become ill. I was hoping to have this assignment all wrapped up before I go on vacation, but that is not going to happen, so I will try and work on it there, while doing the touristy stroll along the Malecon in Puerto Vallarta.

4 thoughts on “Assignment 1 – Planning”

  1. Take your time Lynda. if it must wait until after the vacation ‘so be it’. Sometimes the assignment benefits from a time of reflection. Sometimes the vacation offers fresh opportunities for the assignment. This is meant to be fun!!!

    Like

  2. Thanks guys for bolstering my spiritis. I do actually have a couple of ideas percolating which I think I can work with – so hopefully all will be good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

