Assignment 1 Rework Peer Review

I have taken my tutor’s advice and redone assignment 1. I started off grumbling about having to redo it, but now I’m glad I’ve taken the time to hit the streets in search of my subjects. I decided to go for a totally different theme than the hotel workers that I had initially done. Mainly because reshooting in Vancouver hotels would have been rather tricky. I struggled a bit to come up with a good workable concept, but had a bit of a brain wave at work the other day when receiving fire warden training for our building. The fireman providing the training insisted that we all wear high-visibility clothing when doing fire drills and emergency evacuations and I thought to myself – why not that?

So I’m putting out my images, which I need to reduce to 5 for some peer commentary.

 

Fig 1 Supergirl Movie crew member
Fig 1 Supergirl Movie crew member
Fig 2 Construction crew member
Fig 2 Construction crew member
Fig 3 Hydro Safety & Emergency team member
Fig 3 Hydro Safety & Emergency team member
Fig 4 Construction crew member
Fig 4 Construction crew member
Fig 5 Supergirl movie security crew member
Fig 5 Supergirl movie security crew member
Fig 6 Construction Safety Team Member
Fig 6 Construction Safety Team Member
Fig 7 Construction crew member (traffic)
Fig 7 Construction crew member (traffic)
Fig 8 Supergirl Movie crew member
Fig 8 Supergirl Movie crew member

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

9 thoughts on “Assignment 1 Rework Peer Review”

    1. I agree about 2 and 4. That was bugging me too. I’ve taken them back into LightRoom and brought the exposure down and thrown a few gradients on them and I think they can work now.

      Like

  1. I think these are absolutely smashing (and much better than your hotel staff). I also think you could make it even better by including a few more, different instances (ie fewer Supergirl Crew people and fewer people from the construction site) – you’ve got three different sets of people wearing Hi-Viz, if you could find two more you’d have five (although of course your first and last pictures are both of the Supergirl Crew and are also the strongest pictures, which is a pain from that point of view). But it really works as a typography with a uniting feature – the hi-viz stripes – hiding the differences between very different groups of people! Excellent stuff…

    Like

    1. Thanks Simon. You make an interesting observation, but as time is marching on and Assignment 1 isn’t counted towards assessment I might leave it as it, just reduce down to 5 images as per brief. But it might be an interesting project to take further.

      Like

  2. I’d go for 1, 3, and then any three from 5, 6, 7 8. I like 7 because you can see where he has tanned around his safety goggles. While it would be nice to mix it up, I don’t think that 8 really adds much,

    Like

Leave a Reply

