Exercise 3.2

The Brief:

Make a list of some aspects of your personality that make you unique. Start taking a few pictures that could begin to express this. How could you develop this into a body of work?

Personality is described in the Oxford Dictionary as “the combination of characteristics or qualities that form an individual’s distinctive character.

I always describe myself as being a WYSIWYG person (what you see is what you get). Someone who is determined, sometimes impatient, caring, a bit of a perfectionist, friendly, organised in a disorganised fashion, street-smart, loyal, warm, level headed, easy going, introverted, open-minded and independent.

These are all abstract qualities, something that is unseen, except perhaps for the “organised in a disorganised fashion”. So I expect I will photograph subjects or objects that mirror something back to me that, in my mind, would represent a personality trait. I would imagine the body of work would turn out to be a bit of an eclectic mix. I’ve had a quick look back at some of the photos that I’ve taken in the last few months to get an idea of what would be representative of me. I’ve purposely not provided captions, leaving the viewer to decide which characteristic is portrayed.

Friendly

Easy going

_dsc3071

_dsc2996

_dsc3044

As I expected, the results are eclectic and my layered and abstract images are more on the forefront than the straight images, just as my second assignment in Context and Narrative was.  I’ll need to put some more thought into how to develop this further and revisit this post with some updates.

Reference List

English Oxford Living Dictionaries Personality [online] Available at: https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/personality [Accessed 7 December, 2016]

Save

Leave a Reply

