Assignment 2 – Rework Final

I’ve allowed some time to pass so that I can step back and evaluate my replacement images with a little more objectivity. Many thank to my peers who took the time to provide much needed feedback.

Some of the feedback that I received on the edited contact sheets I had posted a while back were:

  • Simon: 4480 gives a real sense of someone being folded into and crushed by an external force (the frame here, but it could be taken metaphorically); 4436 has could be read as a direct appeal to the camera with your model’s expression giving a sense of unease or possibly of being discovered in the act of something; if you don’t like the direct eye contact, 4423 leaves you wondering what exactly it is that she is looking at and what is the emotion that it is producing in her.
  • Andrew: The gaze in 30 and 80 are more complex to me. 30 looking out of the frame creates a sense of ambiguity as we are missing part of the story. 80 as it looks like we are witnessing a moment of private struggle – close to a stranger’s personal space.
  • Fergus: 4427 & 4430 To be honest these are my favourite two and the most ambiguous.
  • Holly: I see what your tutor means about nos 2 & 3. They direct the viewer to your subject matter in quite a clear way. I’d go for number 4480, which hints at mental health issues without being obvious, and also the one from your first set of contacts where she is sitting hunched up on the sofa. That one speaks of emotion being held in, and her excluding the outside world. They are a lovely and very sad set of images, Lynda.
  • Morris: Your first row of images are definitely ambiguous as they suggest several interpretations, at least to me.

I myself was a little torn between deciding between 4427 and 4430, but in considering the comments from my fellow students I can see that 4430 has more ambiguity than 4427. The gaze looking past the viewer in 4430 is a little perturbing and does raise more questions that the downward gaze of 4427. I find myself trying to will the subject to look at me, not past me. Simon and Andrew’s comments regarding 4480 really resonated with me as I do believe this close up version does convey more ambiguity, personal struggle and introversion than the pull back version (4478).

So here is my assignment in final form.

Fig. 1
Fig. 1
Fig 2
Fig 2
Fig 3
Fig 3
Fig. 4
Fig. 4
Fig. 5
Fig. 5

 

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “Assignment 2 – Rework Final”

Leave a Reply

