Sharon Boothroyd – If you get married again, will you still love me?

Page 82 of our course manual suggests that we take a look at former OCA tutor, Sharon Boothroyd’s body of work called ‘If you get married again, will you still love me?’ This is a body of work that is based on the memory of words spoken by children to their separated fathers.

There are only seven images in the body of work that are featured on Boothroyd’s website, the same work also having been featured on LensCulture and Lenscratch in 2012.  I found the series very emotive and found myself empathising with each of the children featured in the subjects. Emotions of uncertainty and awkwardness flow through the series. I was reminded of my own feelings when my parents divorced, even though I was eighteen at the time and obviously had a better understanding of the difficult situation, I still felt as if suddenly I didn’t belong any more. I can see my own emotions and doubts echoed on the faces of the children in this series – the disbelief, confusion and the hurt.

Sharon Boothroyd
From the series ‘Will you still love me?’, 2010

Although there are no captions accompanying the photos, the title of the series provides enough context for the viewer to insert his or her own narrative to each image. Indeed, I believe that captions would spoil the series and remove the ambiguity that is resident there. All the photos are staged as Boothroyd found that when she was working with the actual fathers and children she “wasn’t getting the truth of the moments that mattered; the hidden moments that are intimate and private” (Photomonitor), so she switch to using actors and friends who she could direct accordingly.

Reference List

Monarchi, C. (2012) Sharon Boothroyd / Will You Still Love Me? [online]. Available at: http://www.photomonitor.co.uk/interview-with-sharon-boothroyd/ [Accessed 6 April, 2017]

Save

3 thoughts on “Sharon Boothroyd – If you get married again, will you still love me?”

  1. I’ve looked at this series several times but what strikes me this time is that Boothroyd thinks that using and directing actors and friends could provide her with more truth than working with those who had suffered the process of divorce.

    Like

    1. I totally get where you are coming from Catherine, but having just experienced something a little similar in my Assignment 3, I can imagine that she would have better control over the actors & friends than the actual people who might come across as stiff and stilted, or in the case of small children overwhelmed by the stranger taking their photo. As real people we might also try subconsciously hide our actual emotions as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

