Assignment 5 – Planning – Call for Peer Review

I’ve been out and have had fun experimenting with the multiple exposures for my assignment. At this point, I’m just playing, seeing where the images lead me, but am very broadly (at the moment) aiming towards something in the line of “the effect of commodification on recreation” or “the effect of industrialization on nature”. I haven’t quite figured it out yet, but something is lurking there in my brain about this. Maybe encroachment would be a better term than effect. But as I said I’m still working on finding the hook.

I want to ensure that each image is textured by some natural element, e.g. water/sand, etc. The colour palette is quite different from the images that I made in Mexico – altogether much softer there, even though I was shooting in bright sunlight (see my initial Assignment 5 planning page). I think it is the dark green mountains that are affecting my colour palette here and of course the sea isn’t as turquoise as in Mexico (can you tell I’m still in holiday mode?).

Any way, I would be very grateful for some feedback, while I’m searching for other locations to shoot. Many thanks.

Contact Sheet 1
Contact Sheet 2

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “Assignment 5 – Planning – Call for Peer Review”

  1. Hi Linda,
    I find the idea interesting, but multiple exposures can be quickly gimmicky so the rationale behind your project has to be very strong to justify this use.
    The other thing I would consider is that multiple exposure is about layers, spatial and temporal elements overlapping each others, intertwined. It is more about viewer’s perception to me than about a state of things. I would not use it necessarily to speak about ‘consequences’.
    However, if you keep experimenting like you did you might probably find some very strong combinations working effectively together.
    These are just personal thoughts, others might see it differently.
    Good luck with your project!

    Like

  2. Yes I can see how the colour palette is different with lower contrast which, I think adds to a sameness which I wasn’t aware of in the earlier images. Maybe if you increase the contrast. Also there seems to be less of the bird’s eye view. Is this because you weren’t as high up above the scene?

    Like

    1. Yes – no bird’s view on these Catherine sadly. I was up about 9 storeys with the Mexico collection. I haven’t yet found an accessible place that is close to the water where I can have the same type of view. Most of the buildings at that height are not built on the water’s edge.

      Like

  3. I like the idea, but it seems there is something that doesn’t work in your sample pictures. In addition to the tonal similarity of both layers, I think there is too much information. May it will work better with close up shots.. In any case, it is an interesting idea so keep exploring the possibilities. Good luck

    Like

Leave a Reply

